Shoaib Akhtar Trolls Pakistan After 1st Innings Collapse vs Australia

[ad_1]

PAK vs AUS: Pakistan were bundled out for 148 runs in the first innings in Karachi.© AFP

Ex-Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Akhtar slammed his country’s mediocre outing with the bat as they folded for just 148 runs in the first innings in reply to Australia’s 556/9 declared in the ongoing Karachi Test. The flurry of wickets that saw the back of seven Pakistan batters for just 100 runs on the board showcased the lack of application by the home team which disappointed many, including Akhtar. Akhtar took to Twitter to bring out his frustration, he wrote, “Haanji boredom duur ho gaya sab ka including me. 100/7 must be entertaining.”

After the pitch in the first Test in Rawalpindi was criticized for having very little assistance for bowlers, the Australian faster bowlers in Karachi exploited the barren patches in the Karachi track to good effect as they combined to claim five crucial wickets.

Skipper Babar Azam top-scored with 36 runs as he turned into a spectator at the non-striker’s end, seeing wickets tumble regularly from the other end.

Left-arm pacer Mitchell Starc was the main destroyer as he took three wickets for 29 runs in 13 overs, a spell which included five maidens.

Promoted

Captain Pat Cummins and all-rounder Cameron Green took one wicket each. Pakistan were bowled out for 148 in reply to Australia’s mammoth first innings score of 556/9 declared.

In their second innings, Australia were 81/1 at stumps on Day 3 enjoying a huge lead of 489 runs.

Topics mentioned in this article



[ad_2]

Source link

European Cricket: Commentators In Splits As Non-Striker Sets Off For A Run Even Before Ball Is Even Bowled. Watch

[ad_1]

The non-striker backed up quite far and started to run even before the ball was bowled.© Twitter

In the world of cricket, the tussle to steal a quick run can bring in all sorts of possibilities into play. Run-out, overthrows, a great effort in the field and much more. Each run helps in rotating the strike and keeps the scoreboard ticking. But there are times when trying to get to the end can lead to hilarious circumstances. A similar occurrence took place during a European Cricket match that had everyone in splits. In a video shared on Twitter, the batter at the non-striker’s end starts sprinting for a run, but he forgets to take into account a very important aspect — the ball was yet to be bowled.

This highly improbable act was on display as the batter left his crease and covered almost three-fourth of the pitch before realising that the bowler didn’t release the ball.

Interestingly, the bowler chose not to remove the bails or ‘Mankad’ the non-striker as he put in a superb ‘spirit of cricket’ gesture to give him another life.

The bowler was quick to complain and point this out to the umpire who in turn cautioned the non-striker for this incident.

The ‘mankading’ of a batter has been in the news off late. Recently, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) Laws sub-committee made certain amendments to the ‘mankading’ law and put it in the category of a ‘run-out.’

Promoted

The amended law states:

Law 41.16 – running out the non-striker – has been moved from Law 41 (Unfair play) to Law 38 (Runout). The wording of the Law remains the same.

Topics mentioned in this article



[ad_2]

Source link